A New First Things Piece

Here’s my new piece about identity, up at First Things.

The essence of my piece can be summed up in this paragraph:

Since I am Catholic, the sexual identity I am called to embrace is my maleness; my true orientation is towards women, my true sexual complement. Insofar as I am attracted to men rather than women, I do not discover a different essential orientation within myself, but rather a disorientation of my sexual attractions. A homosexual “orientation,” no matter how strongly it is subjectively experienced within our person, does not exist within God’s blueprint for humanity. We know this based on the authority of the Church, the custodian and interpreter of revelation.

3 thoughts on “A New First Things Piece

  1. It seems to me you are blessed among men with an inordinate perception of and desire to follow the truth! I’ve signed up to follow your posts, since they are so inspiring to me. Though I don’t have SSA, my life has become like a slow-motion avalanche due to other issues. Thank you for the courage to write about your battle, and the perseverance not to surrender.

    Have you heard of the Confraternity of Angelic Warfare? Enrollment in the Confraternity has brought me peace from unwanted thoughts and fears that plagued me for years. You can read about it here: http://www.angelicwarfareconfraternity.org/about/

    May God bless you always and enfold you in His Loving embrace close to His Sacred Heart, and may Our Lady keep you under the Mantle of her protection.

      • I’m always glad to hear that someone has enrolled in the Confraternity, though I thought I was contacting the author, Mr. Mattson. I read his article in Catholic Answers, which listed this website as his blog. I didn’t realize that, since you posted it, my comments would go to you. God bless 🙂

Leave a Reply

