C. S. Lewis On Overcoming Chronic Temptations

I’m doing a bit of writing for my book, when I find the time to do so. It’s going to take hours and hours of work, and lots of revisions. One of the fun parts however is looking for things to include. I have collected over the years a lot of quotes that I want to put here or there in my book, and as I go along, I continue to find new gems. This is a good one that I think will find its way into my book on overcoming pesky temptations or addictions. This is excellent from C. S. Lewis:

I know all about the despair of overcoming chronic temptations. It is not serious, provided self-offended petulance, annoyance at breaking records, impatience etc. don’t get the upper hand. No amount of falls will really undo us if we keep on picking ourselves up each time. We all shall of course be v. muddy and tattered children by the time we reach home. But the bathrooms are all ready, the towels put out, and the clean clothes are in the airing cupboard. The only fatal thing is to lose one’s temper and give it up. It is when we notice the dirt that God is most present in us; it is the v. sign of His presence. . . .

–from a letter to Mary Neylen, 20 January 1942

One thought on “C. S. Lewis On Overcoming Chronic Temptations

  1. Thank you for that ray of hope in the letter above. The line  “No amount of falls will really undo us if we keep on picking ourselves up each time.” reminded me of the lyrics to a song I think about when picking myself up after a fall:

    A thunderstorm shouts in the dead of the night
    Tells of Your power, it tells of Your might, it’s true
    All for the glory of You

    Golden light shining as each day begun
    Reminding us all of the kingdom to come so soon
    All for the glory of You

    Like the worship all creation gives
    Let this life I live be

    All for the glory of You
    Every moment all I say and do
    All for the glory of You

    The rhythm and rage and the roar of the sea
    Speak of Your mystery and Your majesty deep blue
    All for the glory of You

    Then thousand diamonds hung in the night sky
    A whisper of holiness hidden on high comes through
    All for the glory of You

    Like the worship all creation gives
    Let this life I live be
    All for the glory of you

    Thanks again for the encouragement

Leave a Reply

